National Accreditation Department was established in 2004, based on federal law no. (28) for the year 2001 and the cabinet decision no. (22) for the year 2004 to manage ENAS. Updated Cabinet decision no (35) for the year 2015 regarding the UAE Control System of Conformity Assessment Bodies established that the National Accreditation Department is in charge of its implementation.

ENAS has a responsibility to operate for the benefit of UAE economy and wellbeing. ENAS aims to achieve, maintain and broaden international recognition, which support ENAS contribution in National Strategic goals through its Accreditation services and related activities to conformity assessment bodies, which strengthen improving business competitiveness and overcome technical barriers to trade, by:



    • Striving continuously to improve the level of its services and expand the scope of its service to satisfy the needs of its stakeholders and UAE regulators, through innovative solutions .
    • Ensuring competence of Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs) operating in UAE.
    • Operating in the public interest making accreditation a key pillar to guarantee safety, reliability, accuracy and fair practices in staple areas to the society as a whole such as health, environment, safety and defense.
    • Joining the relevant regional and international Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA) and Multilateral Arrangements (MLA).
    • Keeping abreast of international developments in accreditation & conformity assessment.

ENAS holds the following regional and International memberships:


ENAS MRA Status:

ILAC facilitates trade by operating a worldwide Mutual Recognition Arrangement (the ILAC MRA) among Accreditation Bodies, therefore the test results/ certificates issued by laboratories, inspection bodies, proficiency testing providers and reference material producers, accredited by ILAC Accreditation Bodies members, are accepted globally.

The primary purpose of ILAC is to establish multilateral arrangements between member accreditation bodies, based on mutual evaluation and acceptance of each other's accreditation systems.

ENAS has joined the APAC MRA which is recognized by ILAC Arrangement to promote the acceptance of accredited testing and calibration results on the international level. The ILAC Arrangement, provides significant technical pillar to international trade.

The scope of the ILAC MRA covers:

    • Testing laboratories: ISO/IEC 17025
  • Calibration laboratories: ISO/IEC 17025

ENAS accredited testing and calibration laboratories may reference the ILAC MRA on certificates and reports issued from their side with considerations to the conditions included in the signed “Agreement for the Use of the ENAS Accredited CAB Combined ILAC MRA Mark".


For more information about the ILAC MRA and its signatories, visit

For more information about the APAC MRA and its signatories, visit

National Accreditation Department has been given the mandate to provide the following services:

    • Registration of Conformity Assessment Bodies Operating in UAE
    • Registration of Halal Certification Bodies
    • Accreditation of Conformity Assessment Bodies through ENAS
    • Notification of Conformity Assessment Bodies in the mandatory scope and Technical Regulations stated by ESMA

ENAS Scope of Work

Calibration Laboratories according to ISO/IEC 17025  “General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories” .

Testing Laboratories according to ISO/IEC 17025 “General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories"

Medical Laboratories in accordance with ISO 15189 “Medical laboratories -- Requirements for quality and competence”.

Inspection Bodies in accordance with ISO/IEC 17020 “Conformity assessment -- Requirements for the operation of various types of bodies performing inspection".

Certification body in accordance with ISO/IEC 17065 “Conformity assessment -- Requirements for bodies certifying products, processes and services

Halal Certification Bodies in accordance with UAE.S 2055-2 “Halal products -- Part two: General Requirements for Halal Certification Bodies".